What do you want to be when you grow up?

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Have you ever thought about what you said back when you were asked that question as a child?  “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

A few days ago, I asked my friend this question since I felt like he had lost interest in everything and was a little bit lost himself.  I remember when I first realized that I was lost and unsure about what I wanted to do with my life and such, I had asked myself this question.

My answer to this question as a child was that I wanted to be a writer.  I remember it started off with songwriting, then poetry, but always something to do with writing.  I don’t know why I wanted to be a writer as a child, maybe it’s because I loved to read but that was what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I stopped thinking that I could be a writer when I realized I wasn’t that good at writing.  I just didn’t feel like I wrote as well as other people.  I somehow just couldn’t express myself the way I wanted to and so I gave up my dream to become a writer.

I guess I never did give up completely because I always kept journals on and off all my life.  Writing was my outlet as was many other things but it helped me through a lot.  It was like a friend that was always there no matter what.  And it still is my friend that helps me through anything and everything that comes at me.

I started this blog before I had asked myself that question but while I had been blogging, I had asked myself this question.  I realized that in some way, I’m living out my childhood dream of being a writer by writing this blog.  But now, I really want to improve my writing and since I use to have a hard time updating this blog on a regular basis, I have decided to start writing stories or just random paragraphs here and there to practice.  My friends have always told me, my life could be a TV Show or Movie, maybe it’s time to try to write out my life story.

So, I would like to introduce the category of writing.  It will have random paragraphs, maybe some short stories, etc.  I hope you will enjoy them and I welcome any and ALL feedback.  I’m trying to improve here.

Now, I throw this question back to all my readers.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

Please comment below and let me know what you had wanted to be when you grow up and what you are doing now.  It’ll be interesting to see if people kept to their childhood dream.

❤ sarah

Leave a Reply

